New faces: council results declared

Mount Alexander Shire Council will have four fresh faces – alongside three familiar ones – after the results of the council election were formally declared this week.
On Wednesday evening the Victorian Electoral Commission declared the results of the Mount Alexander Shire local government election with three councillors returned and four new councillors now set to join them around the council table for the next four years. 
The successful candidates are, for Castlemaine Ward: Rosie Annear, Bill Maltby and Gary McClure; for Loddon Ward: Matthew Driscoll; Tarrengower Ward: Stephen Gardner; Calder Ward: Tony Cordy (unopposed) and Coliban Ward: Christine Henderson (unopposed).
New councillor elect for the keenly contested Castlemaine ward, Rosie Annear received 17.07 per cent of first preference votes with Bill Maltby achieving 18.38 per cent of first preference votes and Gary McClure 15.14 per cent.
Greens candidate Keppel Cassidy missed out but had also fared well with 14.1 per cent of first preference votes flowing to him.
The only Castlemaine ward candidate standing from the previous council, Max Lesser, was unsuccessful, recording 4.99 per cent of first preference votes. Read more in today’s Mail 06.11.20…

Please follow and like us:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

error: Content is protected !!